Double Taxation Treaties

Double taxation is defined when similar taxes are imposed in two countries on the same taxpayer on the same tax base, which harmfully affects the exchange of goods, services and capital and technology transfer and trade across the border.

Public and private companies, investment firms, air transport firms and other companies operating in the UAE, as well as residents, benefit from Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreements (DTA). With the purpose of promoting its development goals, the UAE concluded 115 DTA to with most of its trade partners.

The purpose of avoidance of Double Taxation Agreements

  • Promote the development goals of the UAE and diversify its sources of national income
  • Eliminating double taxation, additional taxes and indirect taxes and fiscal evasion
  • Remove the difficulties relating to cross-border trade and investment flows
  • Offer full protection to taxpayers from double taxation, whether direct or indirect and avoid obstructing the free flow of trade and investment and promoting the development goals, in addition to diversify sources of national income and increase the size of investments inflows
  • Take into consideration the taxation issues and the global changes in the economic, financial sectors, and the new financial instruments and the mechanisms of transfer pricing
  • Encourage the exchange of goods, services and capital movements

The United Arab Emirates has more than 100 agreements in place with other countries to avoid double taxation on overseas investments.

The UAE has double tax treaties with the following countries:

Algeria, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen and more.

For the list of countries click here.

Further details on these treaties may be found on the Ministry of Finance.