Phase 2 of tourist VAT refund scheme rollout from Dec 16

  • Share:

The Federal Tax Authority (FTA) on Wednesday said all preparations were complete to launch phase 2 of the Tax Refunds for Tourists Scheme from Sunday, December 16. The scheme would cover 12 air, land and sea ports across the UAE.

The first phase went into effect on November 18, 2018, covering the Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah international airports.

The second phase will cover Al Ain International Airport, Al Maktoum International Airport and Ras Al Khaimah International Airport; as well as 2 sea ports: Zayed Port in Abu Dhabi and Port Rashid in Dubai; and 4 land ports: Al Ghuwaifat Border Post in Abu Dhabi, Hili Border Port and Al Madheef Border Crossing in Al Ain, and Dubai’s Hatta Border Exit.

“The FTA coordinated with the system operator Planet, running all necessary experiments to ensure the scheme is implemented smoothly and accurately,” said Khalid Ali Al Bustani, director-general of FTA.

Al Bustani projects daily refunds of value-added tax (VAT) to grow quickly in the coming period. The number of refund requests processed surpassed 3,800 daily transactions.

The FTA asserted that to be refundable, tax invoices must be issued by retail stores included in the scheme and registered in the system; these venues can be identified by visibly showcasing ‘tax-free’ stickers on their storefronts.

The FTA had outlined conditions for a tourist to be eligible for a tax refund, namely: The tourist in question is at least 18 years old; goods eligible for the scheme are supplied to an overseas tourist who was on UAE soil when the purchase was made, and who intends to exit the UAE along with the purchased items within 90 days; goods must be exported out of the UAE by the tourist within 3 months of the date of supply.