Government Declares which Free Zones are Exempt from VAT

  • Share:

The Cabinet has passed a decision on the Designated Free Zones for the purpose of the implementation of Value Added Tax.

The designated zones are special zones for VAT purposes, which are generally considered outside of the UAE in terms of value-added taxation. While VAT applies throughout the UAE, in the designated zones VAT generally does not apply. Only fenced free zones with special controls on goods and services going in and out could benefit from this status.

No.Designated Zone ( Abu Dhabi)
1Free Trade Zone of Khalifa Port
2Abu Dhabi Airport Free Zone
3Khalifa Industrial Zone
No.Designated Zone (Dubai)
1Jebel Ali Free Zone (North-South)
2Dubai Cars and Automotive Zone (DUCAMZ)
3Dubai Textile City
4Free Zone Area in Al Quoz
5Free Zone Area in Al Qusais
6Dubai Aviation City
7Dubai Airport Free Zone
No.Designated Zones (Sharjah)
1Hamriyah Free Zone
2Sharjah Airport International Free Zone
No.Designated Zones (Ajman)
1Ajman Free Zone
No.Designated Zones (Umm Al Quwain)
1Umm Al Quwain Free Trade Zone in Ahmed Bin Rashid Port
2Umm Al Quwain Free Trade Zone on Sheikh Monhammed Bin Zayed Road
No.Designated Zones (Ras Al Khaimah)
1RAK Free Trade Zone
2RAK Maritime City Free Zone
3RAK Airport Free Zone
No. Designated Zones (Fujairah)
1Fujairah Free Zone
2FOIZ (Fujairah Oil Industry Zone)